Welcome! Saturday, June 15, 2019 | Login | Register

Rutherford County Schools Installs Local Advisory Council

Comment     Print
Related Articles
Dr. David Sutton, assistant superintendent, presents school performance and accountability updates to LAC members

Rutherford County Schools (RCSNC) is fortunate to have strong communities of support through families and other advocates across the district. Local Advisory Councils (LAC) represent one of those valuable support systems. Annually, six to nine individuals at each school volunteer to serve as LAC members within their respective school communities, adding 120 important community voices that help the school system provide the best education possible to Rutherford County students. On October 23, RCSNC installed the 2018-19 LAC members during a dinner ceremony held at East Rutherford High School (ERHS). Current LAC members include:

Chase High

Teddy White

Jason Harrill

Alecia Wilkins

Weldon Blanton

Charles Thrift

Chris Glover

Bruce Green

Marsha Walker

Aylene Allen

Chase Middle

Kim McCranie

Hope Jenkins

Charlotte Dewberry

Cathleen Moreno

Steve Conner

Angela Ezell

Melissa Breeden

Michelle Alcorn

Byron Reed

Cliffside Elementary

Alisha Bennett

Martin Lipscomb

Amanda Snyder

Michelle Jack

Sheila Toney

Rachel Rodgers

Forrest Hunt Elementary

Dee Ledbetter

Maria Arredondo

Danielle Williams

Michael Hardin

Megan Melton

Heather Phillips

Harris Elementary

DeAnna Jones

Jamie White

Wes Mayse

Alyson Mayse

Chad Moore

Sarah Koone

Rutherford Early Collage High (REaCH)

Leah Greene

Anissa Tutt

Sheila Bell

Kelly Scruggs

Diane Dickerson

Ligia Contreras

East Rutherford High

Cindy Wilkerson

Tony Ross

Angie Smith

Travis Butler

Keith Hunt

Megan Lamb

Carrie Wood

Ashley Twitty

Ashley Day

East Rutherford Middle

Angie Melton

Sherry Lavender

Angie Suttle

Kathryn McGowan

LaMonda Thompson

Sarah Tisdale

Shannon Costner

Jessica Flores

Andy Holland

Ellenboro Elementary

Nikki Pack

Dustin Strickland

Karen Spratt

Paula Davis

Mark Snyder

Jennifer Holland

Forest City-Dunbar Elementary

Yesinia Ponce

Angela Crawford

Tikisha McDowell

Ricardo Flores

Franchessa Dewberry

Dustin Guyer

Sunshine Elementary

Jason Coker

Maria Hunnicutt

Stacy Dubesko

Billy McFarland

William Roof

Bobby Bradley

R-S Central High

Tricia Fleming

Avery Hamrick

Russ Newton

Rena Hipp Smith

Jim Hutchins

Jill Crowe

Amy Torvinen

Warren Hamrick

Kathy Carver

R-S Middle

Holly Lawson

Beth Archer

Robin Arrowood

Kandy Byrd

Carla Hooper

Ligia Contreras

Rebecca Lane

Tiffany Lowery

Erin McSwain

Mt. Vernon-Ruth Elementary

Jennifer Swaney

Chad Scruggs

Danielle Guffey

Jenny Yelton

Jessica Matthews

Haley Cobb

Pinnacle Elementary

Savannah McEntire

Jason Tuttle

Andi Calvart

Heather Sheehan

Kelvin Howard

Danielle Jones

Rutherfordton Elementary

Crystal Stroud

Sherry Hill

Donell Smith

Blue Pittman

Buffy Reep

Alan Johnson

Spindale Elementary

Jennifer McCluney

Jeremy McDaniel

Jose Lopez

Janea Adkins

Amanda Turner

Amaris Hodge

LAC members are charged with gaining knowledge necessary to be aware of the education process; enthusiastically representing their community in its relationship with its school; supporting the school administration and staff in their efforts to teach our children; doing all things appropriate to provide the best learning environment for our students; and, being a source of knowledge and communication to the Board of Education and supporting the Board's efforts in providing facilities and adequate needs for teaching and learning. This charge, penned by Dr. Bob England, ultimately seeks to ensure the best education system possible for Rutherford County through community support and engagement.

LAC members generally meet on a monthly basis to discuss both school and district-wide topics of interest. Along with other supporting activities, members raise questions on behalf of their communities, assist in sourcing ideas and solutions, and help to educate others about relevant issues. LAC members are often among the first individuals to take action when the district seeks to rally support for events and initiatives that serve students throughout the year.

The LAC installation dinner is a staple event on the school system's annual calendar. LAC members are welcomed by the superintendent and Board of Education, receive school system updates, and join together in reciting the LAC creed. The ceremony is hosted and catered by one of the county's three traditional high schools each year, and school nutrition staff members there provide a delicious meal to attendees. This year, Charles Matheny and the ERHS cafeteria staff certainly held true to tradition, serving a fantastic turkey and dressing dinner.

In addition to thanking ERHS principal Tim Torvinen and his staff for helping the district welcome and show its appreciation to LAC members, RCSNC also thanks all LAC members for their dedication to the students of Rutherford County.

Read more from:
Latest News
Comment      Print

Powered by Bondware
News Publishing Software

The browser you are using is outdated!

You may not be getting all you can out of your browsing experience
and may be open to security risks!

Consider upgrading to the latest version of your browser or choose on below: